COVID-19 Update

Stay up to date with the City's latest COVID-19 information and updates. Read more

Close alert

Australia Day Community Citizen of the Year Awards

Award recipients

About the awards

Each year the City coordinates the Australia Day Community Citizen of the Year Awards to recognise the significant and positive contributions of individuals and groups within the Rockingham community. The awards are run in conjunction with the Australia Day Council of WA and consist of four categories:

  • Community Citizen of the Year
  • Young Community Citizen of the Year (Under 25 years of age)
  • Senior Community Citizen of the Year (Over 65 years of age)
  • Active Citizenship – Group or Event

The awards are presented at the Australia Day Australian Citizenship Ceremony, 26 January each year.

How to nominate

Nominations can be submitted on the Community Citizen of the Year website. The site contains more information on the criteria for the awards and also how to nominate.

Alternatively, contact the City directly on or 9528 0333 for a printable nomination form.

Nominations officially close on 31 October 2022.

2022 winners

  • Winner: Amber Bates

    Amber Bates was recognised as the Community Citizen of the Year for her work as co-founder and Chair of Tiny Sparks WA, a leading charity for high-risk pregnancies and babies born sick or prematurely. Amber represents the ‘pre-term’ community in an advocacy position as chair of the Preterm Consumer Reference Group at the Telethon Kids Institute, and is Deputy Chair of the Consumer Advisory Council at the Child and Adolescent Health Service. 

    Amber Bates and Mayor Deb Hamblin

  • Winner: Madelyn Ball

    Madelyn Ball received the Young Community Citizen of the Year (under 25 years of age) award for her contribution to the local community as a member of the Rockingham Youth Reference Group. In this role, Madelyn was a key part of the group which helped to establish the Rockingham Youth Centre.

    Madelyn Ball with Mayor Deb Hamblin

  • Winner: Betty Jean West

    The Senior Community Citizen of the Year (over 65 years of age) was won by Betty Jean West for her work with several community groups over a prolonged period including Rockingham Football Club, Warnbro Primary School P&C, Baldivis Pony Club and also for her advocacy work on behalf of Defence veterans.

    Betty Jean West with the Mayor.

  • No Winner

    We encourage community members to nominate young community members for future awards.





Previous winners

All winners’ names are placed on the Australia Day Awards honour boards and is located in the City of Rockingham Administration Building Reception Room.

A full list of winners’ names can be found in the document below.

Go to Top of the page