Sports Star Awards

Since 1996, the City of Rockingham Sports Star Awards have marked an annual celebration of outstanding achievements within the Rockingham sporting community. We take great pride in recognising and rewarding the achievements of local sporting individuals and teams.

2024 Sports Star Awards Sports Star Awards trophies

We understand the value of sport and recreation to the Rockingham community which is why we continue to recognise the achievements of local sportspeople and volunteers through our annual Sports Star Awards.

This years the City will celebrate 27 years of recognising and rewarding the achievements of local sporting individuals, clubs and teams participating in international, national, state, regional and local competition levels.

The 2024 Sport Star Awards Ceremony is to be held on Wednesday 18 September 2024 at Gary Holland Community Centre.

Nominations now open

Nominations for the 2024 Sports Star Awards are now open.

Do you know a local team, club or sportsperson who has excelled in their chosen sport and deserves to be recognised? We invite you to recognise them by completing a nomination in one (or more) of the award categories below.

If you would like to nominate someone, please download the Nomination Package and submit the completed form to the City via email, in person or by mail before the close of business on Wednesday 31 July 2024

Late nominations will not be accepted.

    Award categories

    Categories and prize money:

    • Junior Sports Star of the Year - $300
    • Senior Sports Star of the Year - $400
    • Masters Sports Star of the Year - $400
    • Keren Kim Ugle (Senior) Indigenous Sports Star of the Year - $400
    • Sports Person of the Year with Disability - $400
    • Junior Volunteer of the Year - $300
    • Volunteer of the Year - $400
    • Team of the Year - $800
    • Champion Club of the Year - $1,200
    • Club Governance Award - $800
    • John Brown Lifetime Achievement Memorial Award - $500
    • Inclusion Program or Event of the Year - $400


    Previous Sports Star Award winners 

     Junior Sports StarSenior Sports StarClub of the YearTeam of the YearVolunteer of the YearJohn Brown Lifetime Achievement Memorial Sport Star of the Year with Disability 

    Club Governance Award

    Inclusion Event or Program of the YearKeren Kim Ugle (Senior) Indigenous Sports Star of the YearJunior Volunteer of the YearMasters Sports Star of the Year
    2023Ava Dolan (Taekwondo Oh Do Kwan)Bryony Soden (Muaythai/Thai Kickboxing)Rockingham Swimming ClubRockingham Flames NBL1 Mens TeamRadmila Popovic (Port Kennedy Soccer)Alan Mills (Rockingham District Hockey Club)Imogen Peterson (Netball)Rockingham Swimming ClubNo Limits Netball – Rockingham Districts Netball AssociationAllan David Redpath (Martial Arts – Karate)Megan Love (Baldivis District Football Club)Peter Traeger (Surf Life Saving)
    2022  Declan McGheeAshlyn MohrSouthside Chargers Basketball ClubRockingham Flames Basketball Club U14s Touring TeamTaylor OlsonJoy Cox      
    2021Oliver Brehaut Ben SainsburyRockingham BMX ClubPort Kennedy Soccer Club Over 45s Masters TeamMelanie HillCary DimmerBen Sainsbury     
    2019Luke TraversHolly BarrattRockingham Basketball and Recreation AssociationRockingham City Football Club 1st TeamWarren BoucatKevin CorbittBen Sainsbury      
    2018Jordan CallumLuke Gaisford Rockingham Rugby Union Football ClubRockingham City Football Club U13s Metro Division 2 Team Wayne HuntBob ChalmersMichael Nvota      
    2017Jordan CallumSteven WareRockingham City Football ClubSingleton Irwinians Cricket Club A GradePeta HograthAaron NaughtonLeon Larkins     
    2016Liam Van Der HeydenHolly Barratt Secret Harbour Dockers Cricket ClubRockingham Stingrays National Swim Squad 2016Sally BlechyndenSophie WhiteGabriel Coombes     
    2015Matthew RamsdenHolly Barratt Hillman Hornets Cricket ClubRockingham Flames Ladies SBLDeb BirdBrett McDonaldJustin Bettes     
    2014Ashlee GlandsShannon McCannRockingham Bowling ClubRockingham Flames Ladies Basketball TeamGarry HartHolly BarrattJustin Bettes     
    2013Jesika Bussey Robert BatesSecret Harbour Dockers Club Panthers PomCaroline Bates

    Samuel Kimberley

    Peter Ackland

    Justin Bettes     
    2012Ella SolinStandish SalazaarRockingham Little Athletics Rockingham Flames U14 Men'sCarolyn WilsonTaylor ColladLinsey Reed     
    2011Alex StuartJasmine Cross Western TigersCarolyn WilsonDavid Watts      

    Tanelale Peschel

    Ellan Solin

    Jody-Lee Henry Rockingham Mandurah District Cricket ClubMegan WilliamsSarah Wignall      
    2009David WattsJody-Lee Henry Rockingham FlamesRebecca LuckensMichelle Nazaroff       
    2008Chad CrossChelsea Hall Secret Harbour District Teeball U/13Scott GoodrickRyan Godfrey      
    2007Brydan KleinJody-Lee Henry Coastal Ceiling BlazersSteve DixonMatthew Wilson      
    2006Brydan KleinOliver Dziubak   Bob Chalmers       
    2005Brydan KleinOliver Dziubak  Rod Fielding       
    2004Ben Offereins Oliver Dziubak  Dianne Hoddy       
    2003Brydan KleinCarlin Hughes  Wendy Wales       
    2002Cheyne PercyCraig Simmons  Keith (Chad) Webber       
    2001Tamika HymersJamie Dunross  Bob Chalmers       
    2000Clint JoyceBridget Young  Kim McDonald       
    1999Jeremey KleinRoy Beckett  Rhonda Ford       
    1998Dianne BevanAdam Lloyd          
    1997Grath Van Den EndeDale Britton           


    Go to Top of the page