About the Art Prize People viewing art

The City of Rockingham Art Prize is back in 2023, with a new name and new prize categories.

The City of Rockingham Art Prize (formerly the Art Awards) recognises artistic achievement in a range of categories. Each year Western Australian emerging and professional artists are invited to submit their works for selection, in any two or three-dimensional medium.

Artworks are selected and judged by an independent panel. Following judging, works will be on exhibition at the Rockingham Arts Centre from Saturday 6 May to Sunday 21 May 2023.  

Entries for the 2023 Art Prize are now closed. Entries closed midnight Sunday 26 February 2023.


Art Prize Curator Sandra Murray

The City is pleased to appoint Sandra Murray as the Art Prize Curator for 2023.

Sandra is a leading independent curator, arts consultant and artist mentor. She has a depth of experience in working with artists, collections, and exhibitions, including directing and curating for art and museum institutions in WA and NSW, and has worked in the public, corporate, not-for-profit, and private sectors.

Sandra has project managed and curated over 60 art and museum exhibitions and is the Artistic Director/Lead Curator of Sculptures at Bathers. She holds a Bachelor of Arts Honours in Art History and Theory, and a Master of Philosophy. 

Information for artists

  • Video

    How to Photograph your Artwork with Miles Noel

    Learn how to take the best photos of your 2D and 3D artwork to accompany your entry into the City of Rockingham Art Prize.

  • Scroll sideways
    Entries openMonday 21 November 2022
    Entries closeMidnight Sunday 26 February 2023
    Notification of acceptanceFriday 10 March 2023
    Artwork deliveryMonday 1 May 2023
    JudgingThursday 4 May 2023
    Awards presentationFriday 5 May 2023
    Exhibition open to the publicSaturday 6 May 2023
    Exhibition closesSunday 21 May 2023
    Artwork collectionMonday 22 May 2023
  • A selection panel consisting of the curator and two independent panellists will review entries and select works for exhibition at the City of Rockingham Art Prize Exhibition. The selection process will be blind, meaning panellists will only have access to the image of the artwork and the artwork title. 

    The City is pleased to appoint Lia McKnight, Robert Gear and Ron Bradfield Junior as the independent panellists for the Art Prize 2023. 

    Lia McKnight

    Lia is Collection Manager at John Curtin Gallery, Curtin University and a curator. She holds a Bachelor of Visual Arts and Master of Arts, Cultural Heritage. She has participated as a selection panel member and judge for art prizes including the John Stringer Prize and the Perth Royal Art Prize for Landscape.

    Lia is a contemporary artist based in Walyalup/Fremantle who works with a variety of media. She has been exhibiting for 20 years and has been a finalist in various prizes including the Joondalup Invitation Art Prize. She is represented in collections including Murdoch University, Curtin University, the City of Perth and City of Joondalup.

    Robert Gear

    Robert is an accomplished artist and arts educator living in Boorloo/Perth. Alongside a secondary art teaching career, he has maintained a continuous painting practice which is now his sole focus. His works are held in private and public collections including the University of WA, Edith Cowan University and St John of God Hospital.

    Robert has shown in numerous exhibitions and been a finalist in many art prizes, including The Hadley Prize, Albany National Art Prize, Perth Royal Art Prize for Landscape, Tattersalls Art Prize and the Fleurieu Biennale. He holds a Teaching Diploma in Art and Bachelor of Fine Arts from Curtin University.

    Ron Bradfield Junior

    Highly regarded from Bardi Country, near Broome, Ron calls Whadjuk Boodjar (Perth) his home. He is an artist, consultant, cultural Advisor, CYO of Yarns R Us, storyteller and former Regional and Indigenous Development Manager for Artsource. Ron is the Community Engagement Coordinator for the Carrolup Centre, John Curtin Gallery, Curtin Unversity. 

Prize categories

Scroll sideways
Category Prize amount (all non-acquisitive)Selection criteria
First Prize$10,000Presented to the most outstanding artwork
Small Sculpture Award$4,000Awarded for three dimensional media, defined as having depth as well as height and width, not being flat or framed, including sculpture, ceramics, woodwork, textiles
Aboriginal Artist Award$2,000 and Artsource MAX membership for one year (valued at $340)Most outstanding artwork by an artist identifying as of Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander descent
Emerging Artist Award$2,000 and Artsource MAX membership for one year (valued at $340)Most outstanding work by an artist in the first seven years’ of their practice since graduating from tertiary studies or commencing their career as an artist
Local resident Award$1,500Most outstanding work by an artist residing within the City of Rockingham
People's Choice Award$500Awarded to the artist whose artwork receives the most votes from members of the public


With thanks to Artsourceopens in a new window

Artsource logo <span class="sr-only">opens in a new window</span>

Artsource (The Artists Foundation of WA) is Western Australia’s leading visual arts network and membership organisation for artists. They champion Western Australia’s visual arts community through professional resources for artists, advocacy, facilities (including studios), tailored insurance, and a host of other services.

Go to Top of the page