Prohibited Burning Period Extended

The Department of Fire and Emergency Services has further extended the Prohibited Burning Period to Sunday 28 April 2024. No Permits to Burn will be issued during this time. All enquiries to 9528 0333.

Close alert

Creativity to Shine at City of Rockingham Art Prize

Date19 March 2024

Over 420 Western Australian visual artists vied for selection in the 2024 City of Rockingham Art Prize. The competition attracted entries from across the state spanning an impressive range of artistic styles competing for the $20,000 prize pool (non-acquisitive).

Returning for the sixth time, the prize provides the opportunity for artists to have their work on public display in a professionally curated exhibition and available for sale.

Landscape painting of remote bushland setting.

Among this year’s 82 finalists are both established and emerging artists hailing from Broome to Albany, including 24 Rockingham locals, showcasing works across a variety of media including painting, drawing, sculpture, ceramics, photography and mixed-media.

Entries for the highly competitive prize were assessed by a professional arts panel comprising Di Cubitt, artist and academic at Curtin University; Richard Gunning, established WA artist and art lecturer; Karen Morgan, artist and Noongar Arts Coordinator at Bunbury Regional Art Gallery; and Sandra Murray, Rockingham Art Prize Curator.

The selection panel was impressed by both the quality and quantity of the submitted works.  City of Rockingham Mayor Deb Hamblin said: “We are delighted by the range and calibre of entries. The variety of art forms and artistic interpretations promises to provide a captivating exhibition for visitors.

The City looks forward to presenting the finalists’ artworks in our exhibition, one of the highlights of our annual arts calendar. 

Artsource also returns as a sponsor in 2024, offering one-year subscriptions of its Artsource PLUS memberships to the winners of the First Nations Artist Award and the Emerging Artist Award.

The winners of the City of Rockingham Art Prize will be announced on Saturday 15 June 2024 at the Art Prize Awards Presentation.

The exhibition will be open for public viewing from 15 – 30 June 2024, 10am to 4pm Wednesday to Sunday with free admission and parking, at the Rockingham Arts Centre, 11 Kent Street, Rockingham.

2024 finalists

Tusif Ahmad, Gary Aitken, Neda Bahremand, Charmaine Ball, Greg Barr, Elyssa Bennett, Jeremy Blank, Sam Bloor, Felicity Bodycoat, Leanne Bray, Michael Brophy, David Brown, Sherri Brown, Melissa Clements, Jennifer Cochrane, Jane Coffey, Olivia Colja, Bridgitte Constance, Marco D’Adamo, Andrew Daly, Marilyn Davis-Moore, Tom de Munk-Kerkmeer, Jozina de Ruiter, DoodlesinTransit, Stuart Elliot, Marcia Espinosa, Ashlee Faber, Jenny Gilbertson, Olive Gill-Hille, Tom Goates, Jane Grierson, Emma Harvey, Sam Hopkins, Christopher Hummel, Eric Hynynen, Adam Hisham Ismail, Chantelle Jackman, Kate Jones, Peter Kovacsy, Mel Lamanna, Dannah Lasanas, Felicity Lowe, M.Baker, Desmond Mah, John Manson, Barbara Maumill, Shannon McCann, Kevin McKeown, Jessica Mithen, Suzy Moore, Zali Morgan, Michael Vincent Murphy, Chantell Naude, Brenda Ningarmara, Amber Norrish, Eugene O'Sullivan, Matthew Pearson, Lori Pensini, Annette Peterson, Margaret Peurmora, Keith Pollock, Sherry Quiambao, Melanie Reeves, Jeannette Rein, Stephanie Reisch, Renee Rose, Eveline Ruys, Margaret Sanders, Valerie Schönjahn, Saira Ellen K. Spencer, Nicole Steenhof, Sally Stoneman, Everlyn Sturges, Jonathan Swift, Shelley Tamatoa, Tyler Thomson, James Walker, Imogen West, Mitzi Whitaker, Kay Wood, Jaimee Wright, Allan Yarran

Top image: Allan Yarran, Bunaru Mirda, acrylic on canvas, 60 x 70 cm. Image credit: courtesy the artist


  • Jane Grierson, 'Night works', 2024, charcoal and chalk on paper, 62 x 82 cm. Image credit: courtesy the artist.
  • Tom Goates, ‘Around the corner’, 2023, digital painting printed on Fine Art Giclée paper, 50 x 80 cm. Image credit: courtesy the artist.
  • Felicity Lowe, ‘Eye, owl’, 2024, acrylic on canvas, 20 x 20 cm. Image credit: courtesy the artist.
  • Charmaine Ball, ‘Dignity’, 2024, white stoneware clay, 29 x 20 x 20 cm. Image credit: Eva Fernandez.
  • Allan Yarran, ‘Bunaru Mirda’, 2024, acrylic on canvas, 60 x 70 cm. Image credit: courtesy the artist.
Previous ImageNext Image
Go to Top of the page