The City is continuing to take advice from the WA Department of Health, State Government and Australian Government regarding the safety, health and wellbeing or our community, customers and staff. Read the latest information and updates.

Close alert

Education awards and scholarships

We offer a range of awards and scholarships to help our residents achieve their goals:

2018 Tertiary Scholarship Scheme winners posing with the Mayor and Deputy Mayor 2018 Tertiary Scholarship Scheme winners posing with the Mayor and Deputy Mayor

Tertiary Scholarship Scheme

Round two opens Monday 29 June and closes Friday 17 July 2020.  

We offer two rounds of the Tertiary Scholarship Scheme (TSS) each year. The TSS aims to increase the capacity for local Rockingham residents to complete tertiary education.  If you are currently enrolled in, or have received an offer to study an undergraduate university degree or TAFE/VET diploma, and meet the following eligibility criteria, you are encouraged to apply.

Read the Tertiary Scholarship Scheme Guidelines below for more information on eligibility criteria and scholarship conditions.

Eligibility criteria

Successful TSS applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • be a City of Rockingham resident for a minimum of three years at the time of the application
  • be aged between 17 and 40 years
  • be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • demonstrate financial hardship
  • provide a letter of offer or evidence of current enrolment at a nationally recognised university, TAFE/VET provider
  • have a minimum of one full semester (six months) of study remaining from the application round closing date
  • must be completing an undergraduate university degree and/or TAFE/VET diploma for the first time.

For further information, please refer to the Tertiary Scholarship Scheme Guidelines below or contact us on 9528 0333 or email

Other opportunities

Community members seeking financial assistance to pursue their educational goals may find further information through the following organisations:

Go to Top of the page