Local Sporting Champions Recognised at 25th Sports Star Awards

Date23 September 2022

Local athletes, clubs and volunteers from across the sporting community were recognised for their achievements at the City of Rockingham’s 25th Sports Star Awards, which were held at the Gary Holland Community Centre on Wednesday 21 September 2022. 

The Sports Star Awards are an annual celebration that recognise and reward the achievements of local sporting individuals and teams.

A wide range of nominations were received across six categories for the awards, and this year winners were acknowledged from sports including BMX, tenpin bowling, soccer, hockey and basketball. 

City of Rockingham Mayor Deb Hamblin congratulated the finalists and winners on their outstanding accomplishments. 

“Sport plays an important role in growing and nurturing community connectedness and wellbeing, which is a key aspiration in the City’s Strategic Community Plan,” Mayor Hamblin said. 

“It is a vital element in creating a physically and mentally healthy community and the Sports Star Awards are a fabulous way to recognise the athletes, clubs and volunteers who excel in their respective sporting codes.

We are fortunate to have an active sporting community that thrives on the local, state and national sporting stage. This year’s event was made all the more special given it was the 25th anniversary of the Sports Star Awards, and the City congratulates the winners on their efforts.

The City gratefully acknowledges the support of sponsors The Sound Telegraph, Rockingham F45 Training, Baldivis Health and Fitness – XLR8 Obstacle Course and Street Hassle Events.  

The 2022 Sports Star Awards winners include: 

  • Junior Sports Star of the Year - Declan McGhee (Rockingham BMX Club).
  • Senior Sports Star of the Year - Ashlyn Mohr (Rockingham Tenpin Bowling Association).
  • Volunteer of the Year - Taylor Olson (Port Kennedy Soccer Club).
  • Team of the Year - U14s touring team – Rockingham Flames Basketball Club.
  • Club of the Year - Southside Chargers Basketball Club.
  • John Brown Lifetime Achievement Memorial Award - Joy Cox (Rockingham District Hockey Club).

Main image: Representatives from Southside Chargers Basketball Club, which was crowned Club of the Year. 

Image two: Junior Sports Star of the Year - Declan McGhee.

Image three: Volunteer of the Year - Taylor Olson. 

Image four: Bonnie Donnelly collected the Team of the Year Award on behalf of the U14s touring team from the Rockingham Flames Basketball Club.   

Image five: Joy Cox won the John Brown Lifetime Achievement Memorial Award. Pictures: City of Rockingham - Please note: Senior Sports Star of the Year, Ashlyn Mohr, was absent.  

Go to Top of the page