COVID-19 update

Stay up to date with the latest information.

Close alert

Candidates for 2021 Local Government Elections Finalised

Date09 September 2021

Candidates for the 2021 Local Government Elections in the City of Rockingham have been finalised, after nominations closed at 4pm on Thursday 9 September 2021. 

Local Government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday of October, with the 2021 elections to be held on Saturday 16 October. This election process is administered by the Western Australian Electoral Commission (WAEC).  

City of Rockingham Administration Building

The position of Mayor and six councillor positions across all of the City’s wards are up for election this year.   

Following the close of nominations, the draw for each candidate’s position on the official ballot papers was conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission’s Returning Officer, with the following outcomes:  

Mayoral Candidates (One Vacancy)

  • Deb Hamblin. 
  • Jack Pleiter. 
  • Cullum Ashton. 
  • Mark Jones. 
  • Craig Buchanan. 
  • Lorna Buchan.

Baldivis Ward Candidates (One Vacancy)

  • Brayden Greig. 
  • Kelly Middlecoat. 
  • Cynthia Deeble. 
  • Brett Wormall. 

Comet Bay Ward Candidates (One Vacancy)

  • David Rudman. 
  • Robert Schmidt. 

Rockingham/Safety Bay Ward Candidates (Four Vacancies)

  • Caroline Hume. 
  • Leigh Liley. 
  • Kirsty Payne. 
  • Ron Pease. 
  • Jack Pleiter. 
  • Cullum Ashton. 
  • Mark Jones. 
  • Dirk Mulder. 
  • Rebecca Privilege. 
  • Dawn Jecks. 

Electors in the City of Rockingham who are on the electoral roll with their correct address will receive a voting package from the WAEC in the mail later this month.

Residents who have not received a package by Tuesday 28 September 2021 are encouraged to contact the City.  

For more information on local government elections visit Voting and Elections.

Go to Top of the page