COVID-19 update

Stay up to date with the latest information.

Close alert

Creative Writing Competition 2021

Creative Writing Competition 2021

About the competition

Creative writers are invited to submit one piece of short fiction or poetry in our Creative Writing Competition under the theme 'Metamorphosis' - the process of transformation or growth. A change in nature of a thing or person into a completely different one.

Entries will open on Monday 12 July and close 4pm Friday 27 August 2021. Entry is open to Western Australian writers.

The competition is open to a wide range of writing styles, including short fiction, poetry, lyrics, opinion pieces or other forms of written expression. Entries need to reflect the theme 'Metamorphosis.'  

Read the terms and conditions below before entering.

All entries will be judged by a panel of professional writers and publishers. Winners will be notified by Friday 10 September.

Award categories

Serenity Press Open AwardAges 18+Lifetime membership to the Everything Publishing Academy and a one-on-one session with the Serenity Press team valued at $2,490. Two books from Fremantle Press published authors. Cash prize of $500.
Youth AwardAges 12-17Mentorship package with published author Holden Sheppard valued at $540. Two books from Fremantle Press published authors. Cash prize of $300.
Local Resident AwardCity of Rockingham resident. Must be able to provide proof of residency if selected as a winner.One-on-one meeting with Hague Publishing principal publisher valued at $140 to discuss your writing and the publishing industry with an additional cash component of $100. Cash prize of $400.
Emerging Writer AwardA writer who has not yet had a story published. This does not include self-published authors.Mentorship program with Underground Writers valued at $350. Two books from Fremantle Press published authors. Cash prize of $500.
Reader's Choice AwardThe piece of short fiction or poetry that receives the most votes from the public.QBD Books $100 voucher.

How to enter

Enter here

Entries close 4pm Friday 27 August.

Meet the judges

Laurie SteedPhoto of Laurie Steed

Laurie Steed is the author of You Belong Here, published in 2018, editor of Shibboleth and other stories, published in 2016, and winner of the 2012 Patricia Hackett Prize. His fiction has been broadcast on BBC Radio 4 and published in Best Australian Stories, Award Winning Australian Writing, The Age, Meanjin, Westerly, Island, and elsewhere. He is the recipient of fellowships from The University of Iowa, The Baltic Writing Residency, The Elizabeth Kostova Foundation, Varuna – The National Writer’s House, The Katharine Susannah Prichard Foundation and The Fellowship of Writers (Western Australia). He lives in Perth, Western Australia.


Photo of Susan MidaliaSusan Midalia

Susan Midalia is an award-winning writer who has published three collections of short stories and two novels. Her collection of flash fiction will be published in 2022. She has judged many writing competitions, including the Western Australian Premiers Book Awards, the T.A.G. Hungerford Award, the Margaret River Short Story Competition, the Stuart Hadow Short Story Prize, the Katharine Susannah Prichard Short Fiction Competition and the Rockingham Writers Competition. She is also a peer assessor for the Australia Council, and a board member of Night Parrot Press and the Australian Short Story Festival. Susan has a PhD in contemporary Australian women’s fiction and has published on the subject in national and international literary journals. She also works as a freelance editor and as a mentor to emerging writers.

Belinda HermawanPhoto of Belinda Hermawan

Belinda Hermawan’s short fiction has appeared in Overland, Westerly and Going Down Swinging in Australia, and in various American literary journals, including Pigeon Pages NYC, Split Lip and Cosmonauts Avenue. She has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize in the United States and was longlisted in Fremantle Press’s 2019 Fogarty Literary Award. Formerly of Writing WA, Belinda was on the judging panel for the 2019 Writing WA Literary Lions Medal. She has served on the Australian Short Story Festival committee, was mentored by Laurie Steed as part of the Centre for Stories’ Indian Ocean Mentoring Project, and is a past president of the Fellowship of Australian Writers WA. She has also published flash fiction, essays and visual arts reviews. Currently working on a novel, she is represented by Katelyn Detweiler of Jill Grinberg Literary Management.


Thank you to our sponsors, Serenity Press, Fremantle PressUnderground Writers and Hague Publishing.

Our major sponsor, Serenity Press, is a traditional publishing house with offices based in Rockingham. They are a growing independent publishing company with heartfelt passion and a burning desire to create beautiful books. 

Serenity Press endeavours to share inspirational stories from the literary folklore-fairy tale genre, bringing readers authors who write from the heart, and books which inspire, empower, awaken and inform. Their aim is to keep traditional stories and storytelling alive through their Duchess Serenity Collection, Folklore collections and Children's books. 

Their authors include Sarah, Duchess of York, Kate Forsyth, Juliet Marillier, Monique Mulligan, Teena Raffa-Mulligan and many more amazing authors.

Serenity Press logoFremantle Press logo    Underground Writers logo    Hague publishing logo

Go to Top of the page