Rockingham 21° 9 °


Page index


The Western Australian Planning Commission (WAPC) is responsible for determining applications for freehold and survey strata subdivisions. The WAPC establish minimum standards for subdivision that are based on overarching planning strategies which are then translated into the following policies to guide land use, subdivision and development.

For Residential zoned land, refer to the Residential Design Codes

For Rural zoned land, refer to: Development Control Policy 3.4 - Subdivision of Rural Land

The City's role in the subdivision process is to provide advice and recommendations to the WAPC on subdivision applications, based on compliance with Town Planning Scheme No. and City Policy.

Types of Subdivision

There are two basic types of subdivision:

Freehold Subdivision ('Green Title')
Properties (or lots) that are created independently of each other are a 'freehold' lot. They are also known as a 'green title lot'. Freehold land is different to strata lot, which is explained below.

Strata Title Subdivision
Strata Titles often apply to 'Grouped Dwellings' but can also apply to 'Multiple Dwellings' on the same 'freehold' lot. Strata Title lots are subject to a Strata Scheme or Survey Strata Plan. Strata Titles may include common property such as driveway or other communal areas.

Subdivision Application Process

Subdivision applications are made direct to the WAPC, (except for 'Built Strata' applications for five or less dwellings), and are then referred by the WAPC to Council and other 'referral agencies' for comment.

Built Strata applications for five or less dwellings (where the dwellings are already constructed) are made direct to the City's Building Services - i.e. Form 7 under the Strata Titles Act.

Details on the subdivision application process can be found as follows:

Subdivision application form and fees can be found as follows:


Subdivision enquiries should be directed to the City's Planning Services prior to lodging an application for subdivision on 9528 0333 or by appointment at the City's Administration Office between the hours of 8.30am to 4.30pm, Monday to Friday.