

City of Rockingham Register of Council Member Training 2021-2022

Council Member Essentials

Section 5.126 of the *Local Government Act 1995* requires specified training to be undertaken and reported. The Council Member Essentials training consists of 5 courses provided by the WA Local Government Association (**WALGA**), North Metropolitan or South Metropolitan TAFE's and is supported by the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries.

All newly Elected Members are required to complete these courses within 12 months of being elected. The following Council Members are undertaking this training and are to complete it by 16 October 2022.

	Understanding Local Government (eLearning module or face to face)	Conflicts of Interest (eLearning module or face to face)	Serving on Councils (eLearning module or face to face)	Meeting Procedures (eLearning module or face to face)	Understanding Financial Reports and Budgets (eLearning module or face to face)
Mayor Deborah	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed	
Hamblin	5 April 2022	19 April 2022	17 June 2022	3 May2022	
Cr Mark Jones		Completed 10 March 2022			
Cr Leigh Liley	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed	
	24 January 2022	16 May 2022	14 April 2022	20 June 2022	
Cr Robert Schmidt	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed
	19 January 2022	19 January 2022	17 April 2022	17 April 2022	18 April 2022
Cr Brett Wormall	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed
	13 February 2022	2 December 2021	25 May 2022	30 March 2022	25 May 2022
Cr Caroline Hume	Completed	Completed	Completed	Completed	Assessment to be
	27 April 2022	27 April 2022	25 February 2022	11 February 2022	completed
Cr Dawn Jecks	Completed	Completed		Completed	
	16 June 2022	16 June 2022		29 April 2022	



City of Rockingham Register of Council Member Training 2021-2022

Professional Development

Following the local government election on 16 October 2021 WALGA provided training for newly elected members. The following Council Members undertook the subsequent sessions.

	The Role of Mayor and Presidents	New Councillor Seminar
Mayor Deborah Hamblin	24 November 2021	
Cr Caroline Hume		12 November 2021
Cr Dawn Jecks		12 November 2021
Cr Robert Schmidt		12 November 2021